Firdaus Khan

AIR -3 E&TC , ESE 2014

My preparation Strategy could be divided in 2 Parts Pre GATE preparation and Post GATE preparation.

Pre GATE preparation
I tried to read from the standard books which I used even during course work, solved few questions given at the end of Chapter for Important subjects like Networks, Communication, Signals, EMT, Digital. Solved Kanodia cover to cover and referred the books in case some concepts required more attention.

Made it a point to solve GATE previous year’s papers. Having strong foundation of Network theory and signals system takes one much ahead so these subjects were prepared with utmost importance and from all the available resources.

After completing the theory and basic foundation part, started my revision -the most important phase. Joined 2 online test series-Made Easy and ACE and got hold GATE Forums previous year‘s GATE MOCK papers. I divided my time from Mid-December to Mid-January for each subject depending upon their importance, Again revised the theory part, solved kanodia, previous year’s paper and made a copy in which formulas and some important short notes (FSN Copy) which we tend to forget were noted down.
Before attempting mock test revised my short notes and mainly took ACE academy tests which was chapterized for each subject. After taking test, focused more on questions I could not attempt referred solution, text books for clarity.

After this phase each day from Mid-January to End of January, solved the GATE forums mock papers kept on revising my FSN copy only, these mock papers generally dealt 2-3 subjects together so revised accordingly. Kept on updating my FSN copy if discovered any new concept or short cuts

Mock Test should always be attempted in time bound manner with some timer. Score in these tests hardly matters more important is we should see where we went wrong and how it can be avoided.

I also tried to solve few aptitude, basic Maths questions every day for short durations not just for aptitude sections of GATE but to remain focused and engaged.

There are times while preparation when we tend to feel under confidant or are scared of results, to weed out negativity shared my anxieties with family and friends(My shock absorbers), read Quran and prayed heavily.

On the GATE Exam Day again I revised my FSN copy once and went like a warrior ( tongue emoticon ). Secured AIR -31 in GATE 2014, I was delighted but still “miles to go before I sleep”

Post GATE preparation:

I could not give as much attention to Non GATE subjects as GATE subjects where prepared, so relied on previous year’s papers of Electronics both conventional and objective. Since objectives questions are many a times repetitive, previous yrs. papers work well however for conventional where less questions are repeated,I banked on GATE subjects for scoring in Conventional.

For Doubt clearing in non-GATE subjects made easy notes easily available in market can be useful.

Electrical previous year’s papers for common Subjects (esp. Objective and for Conventional only networks and Digital) were also solved. Tried to attempt previous yrs. papers in time bound manner since in objective speed with accuracy is very important and for conventional also time management is crucial.

In GS relied on previous yr. papers though very few questions are repeated but one can easily understand the pattern. I focused more on English and from previous yr. papers tried to build concept. I’m a daily newspaper reader but for ESE very few relevant questions are asked from current affairs so if one is not used to reading newspaper she can think of other scoring areas.
Studying Made Easy GS Xerox notes 1-2 times is sufficient for our purpose.

For ESE revision FSN copy was my savior, after making it a habit of revising the copy every day, formulas were on tips, considering the fact that ESE has vast syllabus and most of the questions esp. in objectives are formula based, it really helped.

The articles from previous yrs. toppers which were instrumental in giving direction to my preparation are

https://sujithkumarb.wordpress.com/2013/04/10/a-gate-air-1s-preparation/

https://ieshelpline.wordpress.com/2014/03/23/strategy-for-ese-objective-and-conventional-exams/

The books followed by me is almost similar to the books mentioned in above 2 links but I’m listing it again for some important subjects

Networks – Hayt, Schaum’s Series
Electronic Devices – Millman and Halkias ,Sedra &Smith
Analog Electronics – Sedra and Smith
Communication – Simon Haykin and B P Lathi(Analog)
Digital Electronics – Morris Mano, Rabaey
Controls – Gopal, Schaum’s Series
Signals – Oppenheim and Wilsky,Schaum Series
EMT – Sadiku, Hayt,
Microprocessor – Ramesh Gaonkar

All the best.

“The only place where your dream becomes impossible is in your own thinking.” – Robert Schuller